We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Processing vs. C++
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Processing vs. C++ (Read 1747 times)
Processing vs. C++
Dec 21st, 2009, 6:23pm

Hi,

I am a structural engineering student interested in creating algorithmic patterns, making visual outputs to some programs I have written (in C++ and Matlab), etc. and I have been looking for a good program/programming languages that can help me accomplish this efficiently with regards to time.

I have some experience with C and C++ (through programming courses), but in that experience I have never had much exposure to doing graphics (2D or 3D). I have the impression that it is going to require quite a bit of hardwork to code graphical output algorithms, although I bet the possibilities of things I could do using these languages would be far greater than with Processing. This because they are low level programming languages in comparison with Processing, and thus I can potentially have more control to some of the capabilities of my programs. For example how it communicates with Matlab, etc. Speed and performance bonuses are also another huge plus point, don't large Java applets tend to be a little slow?

Anyways, as I said, I am a student and perhaps I don't know much of what I am talking about, but I am wondering whether it would more worth my time to learn more about graphics processing using C++, rather than Processing?

Thanks.
Re: Processing vs. C++
Reply #1 - Dec 22nd, 2009, 1:49am