We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Blinking box (Read 1812 times)
Blinking box
Dec 20th, 2009, 7:43am

OK, I'm brand new to this...

How do I create a box where the fill color blinks on and off? I'm trying to create a strobe effect. But, when I try to change the fill color after a delay in a loop, it only changes once after the loop has completed.

Mark
Re: Blinking box
Reply #1 - Dec 20th, 2009, 8:32am

hi
something like this?
Code:

import processing.opengl.*;

void setup() {
size(400,400,OPENGL);
stroke(255);
smooth();
}

boolean on=true;
void draw() {
background(0);
if(frameCount% 5== 0) {
if(on)
fill(0);
else
fill(255);
on = !on;
}
rect(100,100,200,200);
}

Reply #2 - Dec 20th, 2009, 8:33am

oh of course it works also without opengl
Reply #3 - Dec 20th, 2009, 9:39am

Thanks. Yes, it does work.

Is there a way to set the timing. For example to 12Hz (12 times per second)?

Mark
Reply #4 - Dec 20th, 2009, 11:19am

This is a hack, for sure, but seems to do the trick. There is a 16 ms delay in the running the loop so, I adjust the ms value for the delay  - 16 to achieve the hz that I need.

Code:
import processing.opengl.*;
int i = 0;
float m = millis();
int s = second();
int[] delay = { 0, 1000, 500, 333, 250, 200, 167, 143, 125, 111, 100, 91, 83, 77, 71, 67, 63, 59, 56, 53, 50 };

void setup() {
 size(800,800,OPENGL);
 stroke(255);
 smooth();
}

boolean on=true;
void draw() {
 background(0);
//  if(frameCount% 0== 0) {
   if(on)
fill(0);
   else
fill(255);
   on = !on;
   delay(delay[12] - 16);
   i++;
   print(i + " : " + millis() + " : ");
   println(second());
//  }
 rect(1,1,800,800);
}