We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Unexpected token
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Unexpected token (Read 2177 times)
Unexpected token
Dec 11th, 2009, 2:10pm

Howdy;

I'm a reasonably experienced programmer who's new to processing. I'm encountering a very frustrating error that occurred only after I tried to take some classes out of the original processing file (which works) and put them into their own files.

This code is posted below. As per my description above, basically all I've done is put each of the classes in their own file, and add one line to the main file:

Code:
void setup() {} 

When I attempt to run this code, I get this message:

Code:
processing.app.debug.RunnerException: unexpected token: ( 

I haven't been able to figure out much about where this is coming from, other than that it happens whenever I attempt to call a method of one of the classes that I put in the other files. Any help on this would be very much appreciated!

Code:
// SCRIPT

Axis xa = new Axis(400, 0, 0, 30, "test X");
Axis ya = new Axis(30, 0, 0, 5, "test Y");
Plot p = new Plot(1500, 800, 30, "test plot");
p.setAxes(xa, ya);
p.plot();

// CLASSES

// Axis class: used to define individual axes
class Axis {

// attributes
 float aMax, aMin, aInt, aTick; // axis min, max, location of intersection with other axis, distance between ticks
                               // (in axis units)
 String aLabel; // label to be displayed on plot

// constructor method
 Axis(float ax, float in, float nt, float ti, String lab) {
   aMax = ax;
   aMin = in;
   aInt = nt;
   aTick = ti;
   aLabel = lab;
 }

}