We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › XML parsing - object vs. array
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
XML parsing - object vs. array? (Read 887 times)
XML parsing - object vs. array?
Dec 5th, 2009, 5:22pm

I'm still very new to processing. I'm having some trouble working with XML.

I have the following XML:

Code:
<recenttracks user="RJ" page="1" perPage="10" totalPages="3019">
 <track>
   <artist>Aretha Franklin</artist>
   <name>Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves</name>
   <date uts="1213031819">9 Jun 2008, 17:16</date>
 </track>
 <track>
   <artist>Radiohead</artist>
   <name>Karma Police</name>
   <date uts="1213031819">9 Jun 2008, 17:13</date>
 </track>
</recenttracks>

I want to loop through each <track>, displaying the <artist> and other children.

My issue is very simple, I think..  I'm running into a problem with getChildren. Below is my code:

Code:
xml = new XMLElement(this,"data.xml");

XMLElement tracks = xml.getChildren();

for (int i = 0; i < numTracks; i++) {

XMLElement track = tracks.getChild(i);

XMLElement artist = track.getChild("track/artist");
String artistName = artist.getContent();
println("1: " + artistName);    
   }

this is my attempt to dig one level into my XML so that I'm working with just <track> elements instead of <recenttracks>. The error I get: "cannot convert from XMLElement[] to XMLElement". What I understand is that it's trying to convert from an object to an array. However, when I try this instead, I get another error:

XMLElement[] tracks = xml.getChildren();

The error is "cannot invoke getChild(int) on the array type XMlElement[]"