We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › quantifying the difference between shapes
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
quantifying the difference between shapes (Read 812 times)
quantifying the difference between shapes
Dec 1st, 2009, 9:25pm

I'm new to Processing and am exploring it as an environment to create experiments on the way people produce (i.e. draw) and visually process shapes. For the experiment I have in mind, I would need to quantify the difference between two subject-drawn shapes, e.g., two lines, ellipses, squares. One way to do that would be to use some algorithm to morph one into the other, keeping track of the total change required by the morphing process. I've looked at threads on morphing, but they seem to involve morphing between pre-defined objects. Is there some way to morph between subject-drawn objects of a given type, or otherwise quantify their difference? (Finally, if there's a better place here to have posted this query, please let me know.)
Re: quantifying the difference between shapes
Reply #1 - Dec 2nd, 2009, 12:56am

Morphing is something that isnt easily done in processing. Not like you are used to do it in flash vor example. I also think even if it is not the best way to figure out the difference between 2 shapes.
What exactly do you want to check ?
of much of the same space they occupie? thats probably not that hard. But if you want to check if they look alike i bet it really is.

For example. 2 circles one is big on the left side of the screen, one is small on the right side. are they similar or not at all?