We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOpenGL and 3D Libraries › finding color of a 3d pixel
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
finding color of a 3d pixel (Read 1698 times)
finding color of a 3d pixel
Nov 20th, 2009, 10:55am

I'm not sure if this is so simple i'm missing it but I can't figure out how to do it.  I'm trying to get the color of a pixel at a particular x,y,z coordinate.  If you can't do it directly, then I thought you may be able to iterate through z slices, turn them into a PImage, and get the pixels from that.  But even that's not clear how to do.

I am new to the world of 3d (and somewhat new to java and processing) but I am a programmer by profession so I can figure out the details...I just can't figure out the best way to go about it.

Thanks for your expertise!
Re: finding color of a 3d pixel
Reply #1 - Nov 21st, 2009, 1:03pm

You should explain a bit more what you want to do.
Cause how should it work? you draw a sphere in 3d space and fill it red. So is a point inside the sphere now red, or is it colorless, or black?

I would say the question is what you want to achieve with your programm and maybe we find a solution for it. but i would say there is no real colorpicking in 3d space.
Reply #2 - Nov 21st, 2009, 3:21pm

Take a look at some of the color picking examples.

http://processing.org/hacks/hacks:picking_color_buffer
http://processing.org/discourse/yabb2/?num=1236203309
Reply #3 - Nov 24th, 2009, 7:24pm

@jeffg: thank you for the links.  That's a clever hack and may be the basis for something in need.