We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › draw/redraw question
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
draw/redraw question (Read 2496 times)
draw/redraw question
Oct 26th, 2009, 1:44am

I'm new to Processing but very impressed. I have had more fun in the last couple of days than in a couple of years of my normal job Smiley

I have put together a little program that has a mostly static visualisation but when I run it then my CPU seems to be very active, which makes sense because it's presumably redrawing everything repeatedly.

I tried to improve things by calling noLoop() in setup and then draw() when I need something repainted but there is a problem here. My visualisation has some short-lived animations in them so I would like the draw() code to be able to trigger another frame if the animation isn't complete (by calling redraw()?). But redraw() seems has no effect if called from within draw(), so either my animation stops after the first frame if I call redraw() or skips straight to the end if I call draw(), because the intermediate images aren't being rendered.

Does anyone know a good trick to do this, or is this something that I have to solve outside the Processing framework (e.g. by defining my own 'redrawNeeded' flag)?
Re: draw/redraw question
Reply #1 - Oct 26th, 2009, 2:51am

This sort of question seems to crop up fairly often.  The main issue is likely to be that any code in draw has to complete before draw refreshes the screen: so you can't use things like delay to simulate separate frames within draw...