We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Code to play a secuance of images
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Code to play a secuance of images ? (Read 1572 times)
Code to play a secuance of images ?
Oct 23rd, 2009, 4:46am

Hi , i tried to do a simple program to play a sequence of images, but i had no luck , im just a newbie and i ended up with just many useless code,

do you know if there is some code somewhere that i can reuse to play my image sequence ?

thanx!
Re: Code to play a secuance of images ?
Reply #1 - Oct 23rd, 2009, 6:07am

The Question about PImage syntax. thread looks like a good starting point...
Reply #2 - Oct 23rd, 2009, 9:23am

Do you have an image-sequence-playing mission, or a want-to-learn-Java/Processing mission

I wrote something in C++ using openFrameworks that plays image sequences, and I had lots of problems (such as not being familiar with C++ and writing multithreaded code). The "Weather Projection" project had a requirement to play back timelapse footage of sunrises from around the world, and, as there were thousands of images, they had to be loaded in real-time, not in some setup stage.

I created a separate thread to do the image loading (and decoding) so that the program could continue with "smooth" animation the whole time (or at least most of the time!), and the program will "drop frames" if things are going too slowly (I didn't know in advance how fast the image sequences would need to be played back - and they were variable depending on a time schedule!).