We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › Help a scientist - processing based flying bat
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Help a scientist - processing based flying bat (Read 1004 times)
Help a scientist - processing based flying bat
Oct 15th, 2009, 9:53pm

Hi everyone,

I'm just expanding my processing experience to the audio world so I'm new to minim library but I have processing programming experience. Here is what I want to do and could veterans on this board help me by commenting on whether I will be able to accomplish what I want? Thank you!

Objective: play a sound periodically and record the playback at the same time. Bats use this way to fly in the dark without hitting obstacles.

Details: I have a sample I want to play. It has less than a millisecond of a high frequency sound (sine wave at 20KHz) followed by silence. The length of the sample is possibly at most 0.1 second long if not shorter. While I play the sample I want to record it on the mike. Theoretically, the mike will record the initial high frequency sound and then another sound, a reflection of the original sound wave from objects near the speaker, a wall, a cup etc. Think about talking in an empty room and you can hear your echo. I want to play a sound and record its echo. The time lag between the two short sounds can be used to find the distance of the objects to the speaker. I think this is how bats navigate in dark caves.

Question 0: Can I get some comment on my objective?