We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Let's talk Gravity!
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Let's talk Gravity! (Read 1513 times)
Let's talk Gravity!
Oct 12th, 2009, 7:50am

Hey everyone!

I am a total newbie when it comes to processing.

I am trying to write an app involving gravity. I have tried out a few tutorials on gravity, but I can't seem to find the right one for my needs.

I want to make a "room" filled with misc stuff like cats, dogs, milk cartons etc. I then want the items to be affected by different gravity data by the means of a potentiometer through Arduino.
The one that I got to "work" is just in 2D wheres I want the items to float inside the whole room in a 3D fashion.

I hope you can understand what I am trying to make Smiley

Thanks !
Re: Let's talk Gravity!
Reply #1 - Oct 12th, 2009, 8:42am

Depending on your experience with other languages I'd suggest you stick to getting it working properly in 2D first.  Also, when you say you got it to "work" what does that mean?  Gravity isn't a complicated concept: it's easy enough to simulate by simply adjusting an object's velocity on the y axis each frame, and it's not particularly difficult to apply that in 3D.  However I guess you might mean that each object has its own gravity and influence on all other objects, more like a solar system than standing on a planet.

You clearly need to be a little clearer about what you hope to achieve and what help you want in getting there...
Reply #2 - Oct 12th, 2009, 9:43am

blindfish wrote on Oct 12th, 2009, 8:42am: