We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Why not following frame rate (novice)
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Why not following frame rate? (novice) (Read 1609 times)
Why not following frame rate? (novice)
Sep 20th, 2009, 3:14pm

I'm just starting to learn Processing. I've been able to produce some nice animated line drawings, but every time I try to use 'for' to control things, I lose the connection with the frame rate and get something that moves at hyper-speed.  It seems to me, for example, that the following code should produce a moving line per the frame rate, but instead it produces an apparent solid block. Any help you can offer this newbie will be much appreciated.

void setup() {
 size(400, 400);
 frameRate(50);
}

void draw() {
 background(125);
 for (int i = 0; i < 255; i++) {
   line(i, 50, i, 200);
 }
}
Re: Why not following frame rate? (novice)
Reply #1 - Sep 20th, 2009, 3:25pm

Think of draw(){ stuff } as: "do this within each frame."  So if you're running from 0 to 255, that'll happen each frame...if you want it to only go one step per frame, you need to declare the counter variable outside of the loop:
Code:

int i=0;
void draw(){
stuff.do();
i++; // or: i=(i+1)%255 to make a repeating loop
}
Reply #2 - Sep 20th, 2009, 3:33pm

This is the code to do what you want.

Code:
int i = 0; // or whatever name you call it

void setup() {
size(400, 400);
frameRate(50);
}

void draw() {
background(125);
line(i, 50, i, 200);
i++;
if (i>height) {
i = 0;
}
}

Your for loop is doing something completely different, it is drawin a line under a line under a line under a... 255 times on each frame.