We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › :lukas' syntax question thread
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
:lukas' syntax question thread (Read 3052 times)
:lukas' syntax question thread
Aug 28th, 2009, 10:35am

Hey!

I just started learning programming with Processing (just programming BlitzBasic before...) and I really like it so far! But now I have a rather strange problem even googling couldn't really solve for me... or rather: I couldn't even solve googling.  Cheesy

int [][] nodepos;
int nodecount;

void setup(){
size(300,300);
background(0);
noCursor();
frameRate(30);

int nodepos[][] = new int[2][999];
nodecount = 1;
}

void draw(){
background(0);
stroke(230);
ellipse(mouseX,mouseY, 8,8);  

for(int i=1; i < nodecount; i++){
int bruckeX = nodepos[0][i];
int bruckeY = nodepos[1][i];
stroke(230);
point(bruckeX,bruckeY);
stroke(0,0,150);
alpha(0);
ellipse(bruckeX,bruckeY,40,40);
}

mouseInput();  
}

void mouseInput(){
if (mousePressed==true){
  nodepos[0][nodecount] = mouseX;   //here's where it crashes
  nodepos[1][nodecount] = mouseY;

nodecount++;
  delay(400);
}
}

So the program basically crashes in the mouseInput()-function (when clicking) with the compiler saying: "NullPointerException"

Has anyone got an idea what the problem might be?

Thanks a lot in advance,
:lukas

Re: (rather strange) NullPointerException
Reply #1 - Aug 28th, 2009, 11:04am

The code was almost OK... Smiley
First, a precision: the compiler generates errors (and warnings), not exceptions. That's the runtime which generates exceptions... Wink