We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Retrieving XML weather data
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Retrieving XML weather data (Read 2399 times)
Retrieving XML weather data
Aug 14th, 2009, 9:04am

Greetings everyone -  I'm fairly new to Processing (and programming in general). I'm writing a program that will take an XML feed of weather data, extract the current weather conditions, and return a color based upon the current weather.

I'm having trouble, however, getting the XML feed to update - once the program starts running, it seems to only get data from the XML feed once. When the weather feed updates every hour, the text doesn't update along with it. Ideally, the program will update itself as new information becomes available.

My (admittedly very preliminary) code is below- the if loop has been simplified so that it looks less messy. Is there something that I'm missing re: the XML feed?

thanks for your help!

Code:

import processing.serial.*;

int n;
XMLElement xml;
String cs;
color c;
Serial port;

void setup() {

String feed = (xml weather feed URL) //actual URL removed

PFont font;

size(500,300);      //screen size, etc.
 background(0);

font = loadFont("Arial-Black-48.vlw");
 fill(255);
 textFont(font, 13);

String arduinoPort = Serial.list()[2];      
 port = new Serial(this, arduinoPort, 19200);

xml = new XMLElement(this,feed);

}

void draw() {

background(0);

XMLElement lastreading = xml.getChild("observation_time");
   XMLElement weather = xml.getChild("weather");

String reading = lastreading.getContent(); //last reading time