We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › Turn AudioInput into AudioOutput in Minim
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Turn AudioInput into AudioOutput in Minim (Read 1196 times)
Turn AudioInput into AudioOutput in Minim
Jul 3rd, 2009, 10:18am

Hey yall!

I'm pretty new in Processing (as in programming at all).
I'm doin a coursework in generative design, and I decided to try something audio-visual.
By now I have a pretty little thing called "Malte" that's getting the AudioInput signal and turns it into the frequency band.
This band is displayed then in different styles and colours.

But actually my aim was to display the output of a platform (pc or mac).

Naively I thought it would be as simple as turning "AudioInput" into "AudioOutput" and the ".getLineIn" into a ".getLineOut".
As soon as I do that there is no response at all from the visuals.
:-?

Right now the code is like that (excerpt):

import processing.core.*;
import ddf.minim.analysis.*;
import ddf.minim.*;

Minim minim;
AudioInput input;
FFT fft;

void setup()
{

minim = new Minim(this);
   input = minim.getLineIn(Minim.STEREO, 512);
   fft = new FFT(input.bufferSize(), input.sampleRate());
   fft.logAverages(22, 3);
   fft.window(FFT.NONE);

void stop()
{
 input.close();
 minim.stop();
 super.stop();
}

Help?
Anyone??  :(
Re: Turn AudioInput into AudioOutput in Minim
Reply #1 - Jul 6th, 2009, 5:07am

hmm, this is abit confusing, but i think i understand your problem.

AudioOutput is minim's sound output. As in you can do sound with minim in processing, and select an audiooutput source where to send it, check the manual for examples.