We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Mouse collision (newbie alert)
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Mouse collision (newbie alert) (Read 550 times)
Mouse collision (newbie alert)
May 24th, 2009, 11:20pm

Hi all,

I am new to processing, however am familiar with programming and understand the basics of OOP.  I am wanting to know if there is existing syntax that would allow me to determine if a user has clicked on a shape or not.

For example, I have an array of objects (the object has x, y & size values) which I am using to plot a series of ellipses.  I am then wanting to modify the properties (x/y coordinates) of the clicked ellipse such that it will move.

Has anyone done something similar to this before that might assist me?  I am suspecting I am likely to need to use the mouse input operators but that is as far as I have got so far.  Am I going to have to scan through my array of objects to determine if there is a collision?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
DW
Re: Mouse collision (newbie alert)
Reply #1 - May 25th, 2009, 1:31am

dww wrote on May 24th, 2009, 11:20pm:
Am I going to have to scan through my array of objects to determine if there is a collision

Yes.

Processing is a bit low level (compared to JavaFX for example), which is good for performance and control of behavior, but need a bit more of work.
Reply #2 - May 25th, 2009, 4:37am

Quote:
Am I going to have to scan through my array of objects to determine if there is a collision?

No you can get Processing to do it for you.