We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Which books to buy first
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Which books to buy first? (Read 1715 times)
Which books to buy first?
Apr 30th, 2009, 2:13pm

Hello, I've just gotten started with Processing, but I have very little background in actual programming. I'm decent at Max/MSP and Jitter but that is not really the same thing. SO for somebody getting started with Java, I've got my eye on the Reas and Fry book, as well as the Ira Greenberg one.

From the sample chapters I've looked at, It seems like the Reas and Fry one assumes that you know a bit about java first, while the Greenberg one seems to spend a good amount of time teaching you the basics (I can only tell this by the table of contents). Am I wrong in assuming this? On one hand I like the interviews and broader topics covered in the Reas and Fry book, on the other hand, I'd like a gentle ease into the java coding language, which I believe I will get from the Ira Greenberg book.
Which book should I buy first if I intend on getting both?

Thanks!
Re: Which books to buy first?
Reply #1 - Apr 30th, 2009, 3:30pm

I own both the books, and like both of them.  In my opinion: