We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › cURL / Processing / Twitter
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
cURL / Processing / Twitter (Read 1500 times)
cURL / Processing / Twitter
Apr 23rd, 2009, 2:08pm

Hello everyone

first post here.

Im currently working on a project for my master degree at University of Aveiro (Portugal) and I could use some help since its my first time coding processing.

My app should get the RSS feed from twitter and print a line, whenever a new tweet is sent.
At the moment everything is working fine but im checking my own tweets, and only the ones that come from my user. I can get a XML file using cURL with all the tweets from my friends (wich is exactly what i need).

Code:
Get updates from users you follow in XML, authenticated: curl -u username:password hxxp://twitter.com/statuses/friends_timeline.xml 

My question is, how can Processing interact with cURL so I can authenticate and get that same result.
as long as it works its ok, doesnt really need to be cURL. I need to authenticate before i get that friends_timeline.xml

After authenticating, i can get teh friends_timeline.rss and apply it on my existing processing code.

heres my processing code so far (its speaking to arduino):
Code:

import simpleML.*;
import processing.serial.*;
XMLRequest xmlRequest;
int time;
String lasttweet;
int i;
String[] check;
String[] titulo;

Serial port;

void setup() {
println("starting....");
frameRate(1);
//xmlRequest = new XMLRequest(this,"hxxp://twitter.com/statuses/friends_timeline.rss");
xmlRequest = new XMLRequest(this,"hxxp://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/23058764.rss");