We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › One conditional and a variable question
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
One conditional and a variable question (Read 490 times)
One conditional and a variable question
Apr 19th, 2009, 11:06am

hi , I got this sketch, it draws ellipses, these ellipses create "lines of ellipses"

Can you explain me in normal english how does the if conditional behaves ?

I also dont understand what the rwHop do, and how it is related to Height_of_peaks

I am a newbie, please explain me in a way i can understand. thanks !!!

Here's the code

Code:
void setup(){
size (300,300);
smooth();
background (#FF034F);
frameRate(1);

}

void draw(){

fill(#FF034F,90);
noStroke();
rect(0,0,width,height);

// Declare Variables

int totalpoints =100 ;
float steps = totalpoints + 1;
int totalrows =3;
int space_between_row = height/totalrows;
float height_of_peaks = 1;
float rowhop =0 ;
int randnudge = 8;
int E=8;

noFill();
stroke ( 255);
strokeWeight(2);
// Algorithm

for (int i =space_between_row ; i<height ; i+=space_between_row) {
for ( int j = 1 ; j < steps ; j++){
rowhop-= height_of_peaks;
if (j% ( 1+(int)(random(randnudge))) == 0 ){
height_of_peaks*=-1;

// extra conditionalls

if (mouseX>width/2){
E=+50 ;

}
}
ellipse((width/steps)*j+random(-30,30), i+rowhop,E,E);

}
}
}

Re: One conditional and a variable question
Reply #1 - Apr 19th, 2009, 4:25pm