We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › New programmer, designing a cellular autonoma
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
New programmer, designing a cellular autonoma (Read 1728 times)
New programmer, designing a cellular autonoma
Apr 11th, 2009, 10:31pm

I'm new to the processing language, and I'm trying to learn it as fast as I can, because it looks like it suits my needs rather well. I'm interested in making technological art, and I'm in the middle of a few projects, hung up on programming.

I am building a large scale, maybe four-five feet in height) piece modeled after a lava lamp, with IO indicators covering it, like pixels. For one of the animations on it's surface I'd naturally like to have a lava lamp type animation running. For several reason's Id like to design a cellular autonoma to govern the motion of the cells (bubbles of lava).

The first reason is that I don't want to program five minutes+ of bubbly animation and, as this is an installation in a gallery, it will be running for quite some time, I'd like for it run for a while without looping.

The second is that I've always had an almost unnatural (it's healthy.. i swear) fascination with self governing bodies. I love the concept of creating a set of rules for a body, and then seeing how it behaves in a society.

The indicators on the surface are either on or off, so colors and such are no problem, and they're about the size of a dime, so there won't be too too many.

So I'm thinking some simple(ish) rules for the cells should be as follows:

1) Each lava cell needs a variable for heat.