We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Keystone correction via processing
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Keystone correction via processing (Read 1796 times)
Keystone correction via processing
Apr 7th, 2009, 9:15am

One of our latest project has been building our own reactable and doing the GUI in processing. I am new to processing, but have a basic knowledge of the Java2D libraries and OpenGL. Our setup includes a table with a projector underneath that shoots from one end of the table into a mirror on the opposite end, that reflects up onto diffusing plexiglass on the tabletop.

This system works well in that it covers the entire top, but there is a major problem with distortion as you can imagine. You get an insane amount of keystoning. Since we're making this multiplatform, I wanted to include the keystoning correction directly into the processing app. Is there an easy way to go about this? I was looking at OpenGL's ortho and perspective, and perspective seems like it could end up being a good solution for my problem.

Then again I'm not totally sure. Does anyone have any experience with a similar problem, or is able to lend a helping reply?

Thanks very much,
Jake
Re: Keystone correction via processing
Reply #1 - Apr 7th, 2009, 2:27pm

An easy but probably slower way would be to create a seperate PGraphics object that you do all your rendering to, then in your main draw loop render the graphics buffer with a skewed quad. Otherwise I'm pretty sure you'll have to figure out how to apply a skew to the projection matrix correctly.

Something like:
skewedProjMatrix = skewMatrix * oldProjMatrix