We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Bending Moment Diagrams
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Bending Moment Diagrams (Read 2062 times)
Bending Moment Diagrams
Mar 26th, 2009, 11:18am

I am kinda new to processing and am looking to write a simple program to draws the shear and bending moment diagrams for a beam.

The user can input parameters such as:

- Length of Beam
- Location of Loads
- Magnitude of those loads
- The Material of the Beam

The output of the programs is:

- The shear force and bending moment diagrams
- The deflection shape of the beam

---------------------------------------------------------------

Do I need a special library to create various fields for user input and store the input for calculation?

If so which one do you recommend?

Re: Bending Moment Diagrams
Reply #1 - Mar 26th, 2009, 12:04pm

Search GUI in the Libraries page. I think controlP5 is the most popular (perhaps the only one, since SpringGUI seems no longer supported).
Reply #2 - Mar 26th, 2009, 11:43pm

I know I may be getting way ahead of myself but I plan to include an image recognition system which allows the user to first draw their own shear and moment diagrams.  The sketched diagrams is then compared with the actual answer diagrams to see if the user has drawn the diagrams correctly.

Can anybody give me some advice as to how this can be done?  

Thanks you
Reply #3 - Mar 27th, 2009, 9:53am

Wow.  That's going to be a hard problem.  Here's how I'd go about it: