We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › New and in need of some help.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
New and in need of some help. (Read 728 times)
New and in need of some help.
Mar 23rd, 2009, 7:49pm

First off, I would like to say Hi to everyone here and look forward to working/collaborating with everyone in the future.  Anyways, I am rather new to the processing language, but so far have been making some good progress with my work and am enjoying it thoroughly.  Lately I have been working on creating various games, and so far have made some basic ones like pong, a simple space invader, etc..., but am stuck on my Snake game.  I figure once I get the basics down I can move onto more complex games.  Anyways, at the moment I have a running Snake game that has the initial snake and it moves and depending on if you push d(down), u(up), l(left),r(right), it will move that direction.  However I am stuck in the whole make a random piece of food on the map, and how, once that piece of food is eaten, it adds one more ellipse to the very back of the snake.  I will include the code I have so far, and if someone could show me how I could accomplish what I am having trouble doing it would be greatly appreciated.  My code is as follows...

int len=20;  // length of worm
int sz = 10; // size of worm segment in pixels
int[] x = new int[len];
int[] y = new int[len];
int dx=1;
int dy=0;

void setup() {
 size(500,500);
 for (int i=0; i < len; i++) { x[i] = width/(2*sz)-i; y[i] = height/(2*sz); }
 frameRate(5);
}

void draw() {
 background(100);
 if (key == 'd') { dx = 0; dy = 1;}
 if (key == 'r') { dx = 1; dy = 0;}