We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Clicking and Dragging Shape Corners
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Clicking and Dragging Shape Corners (Read 652 times)
Clicking and Dragging Shape Corners
Jan 28th, 2009, 4:47am

Hey guys,
I'm very new to processing - I found about it in January, saw great potential and started experimenting and learning. I was hoping someone can help me out with a code I'm having trouble with. I'm importing a set of coordinates from an external txt file and putting the resulting shape on the drawing window. This much I was able to figure out. What I wanna do next - and which has been killing me for over a weeks now, and I seem to be giving up - is that I want to be able to drag any corner of the shape and change this point's position and consequently dragging the connecting lines with it resulting in a new shape. Say if the mouse is at least 5 pixels away from the corner, I can click and drag it to its new location. I tried using classes, which confused me, some if else statements, for structures.., I tried adding transparent circles (diameter=10) around each corner, so that if the mouse is over the circle, I can click and drag my point, but I didn't know how to go about controlling the mouseOver... I just don't seem to be getting the hang of it.

Can anyone PLEASE help me out with this one!
Here's the code that I have (importing the coordinates).

int x1, y1, x2, y2, firstX, firstY;
String[] coords;

void setup(){
 smooth();
 strokeWeight(2);
 coords = loadStrings("coordinates.txt");
}

void draw(){
 for (int i=0; i<coords.length; i++){