We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › proMIDI, MidiBus, and Accurate Input Detection
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
proMIDI, MidiBus, and Accurate Input Detection (Read 1464 times)
proMIDI, MidiBus, and Accurate Input Detection
Jan 21st, 2009, 8:00am

Hello All,

I'm just getting started learning Processing for an upcoming performance. I've been trying to get input from my MIDI hardware to be detected in a Processing sketch. The ultimate goal is to be able to set and adjust the frame rate in time to a click. So, for example, noteOns of a specific pitch and above a specific velocity should be used to deduce the beats per minute, and from there the frame rate. This way projected video or imagery will speed up and slow down in time to the musicians without the musicians doing anything more than just playing as usual.  (Actually, for this piece it is the drummer I'm focusing on.)

The problem I'm seeing is that I'm getting input data that does not seem clean enough for this task.  I made a quick demo using proMIDI, and (what I think is) an identical one using MidiBus.  The demos simply output (via a println()) a timestamp, the function that is being called (noteOn, noteOff, etc,) and the parameters of the MIDI event.  I execute the sketches and I simply press one key on my M-Audio Oxygen8, hold it for a count of three (just to let some time advance), and release it.