We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Forum as Learning and Teaching Tool
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Forum as Learning and Teaching Tool (Read 1167 times)
Forum as Learning and Teaching Tool
Jan 15th, 2009, 3:20am

Dear Processors(?),
I am a middle school algebra teacher, and I posted a few months back that I was initiating a program of study where 7th grade students would augment their study of algebra through the use of processing.  I must say that the results have been very encouraging.  At first, I was worried that teaching both beginning programming and algebra might lead to information overload.  Instead I am finding that learning about a concept and its similar/differing implementation in two contexts--symbolic math and computer programming--has allowed students to have a deeper understanding of both.  E.g. The coordinate plane, number types, functions, variables, the equal sign.

Students have now reached a point where they are creating sketches that have some amount of complexity.  Although I still resort to the occasional "Just 'cause" or "We'll get to that in a couple of weeks", they largely have a sophisticated understanding of the processing language.