We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpVideo Capture,  Movie Playback,  Vision Libraries › how to jump to a specific frame # in a .mov
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
how to jump to a specific frame # in a .mov? (Read 605 times)
how to jump to a specific frame # in a .mov?
Nov 30th, 2008, 5:45am

Hi all, I'm totally new to Processing.
I'm looking to do something like this:
--read in a frame from a .mov file
--do some stuff with it
--move to the next frame

It seems to me that I should be using the Movie::jump() method, but, from what I can tell, this only allows you to skip around to different *times* in a movie, calculated in seconds. The problem with this is that different movies have different framerates, so what's .5 seconds in one movie may be a different # of frames than .5 seconds in another movie. (Also, at 30fps, what's one frame? .03333333333333333333333 seconds?)

Is there any way to determine the framerate in fps of a movie? How can I skip ahead by a discrete number of frames?

Thanks!
jonathan

Re: how to jump to a specific frame # in a .mov?
Reply #1 - Nov 30th, 2008, 6:38am

You can control the framerate of a Movie object.

Check the Example sketch "loop" for for movie, and try replacing it with this code (mouseX controls the framerate):

import processing.video.*;

Movie myMovie;
int x;
void setup() {
 size(640, 480, P2D);
 //size(640, 480, Ja);
 background(0);
 // Load and play the video in a loop
 myMovie = new Movie(this, "station.mov");
 myMovie.loop();
 x= 0;
}

void movieEvent(Movie myMovie) {
myMovie.frameRate(x);  // <---------------here
 myMovie.read();
}

void draw() {
 tint(255, 20);