We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Saving settings from a Processing object / applet
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Saving settings from a Processing object / applet (Read 307 times)
Saving settings from a Processing object / applet
Nov 27th, 2008, 4:58pm

Hello

I am completely new to Processing and I want to use it in a web application I'm writing in NetBeans 6.5 where users
are able to graph data on bar charts, time series plots and so on.

Using Processing, I can export the application as an applet and and use the .jar file in my NetBeans application to
generate the graphs I want in a web page. This works perfectly well where the applet it is passed the name of the
text file on the server which contains the data (which is written from a MySQL database).

But what I also want is for the applet to have several input boxes for for descriptions of the the X and Y axes and
so on where these boxes forms part of the Processing graph object.

I think enabling these boxes in the applet should be straightforward. But is it possible for a form on a webpage to
access the contents of these boxes in the applet so that the contents can be passed to the server when the button on
an HTML form is pressed?

I have tried playing with the <object> code generated in the web page by Processing during Export but without
success. To give an example, this is the sort of thing I've tried within the body of Processing code:

String stringOut = ("This is a message");

String getStringOut() {
               return stringOut;
       }

With code like this in the web pages: