We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › which book to get
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
which book to get? (Read 1514 times)
which book to get?
Nov 20th, 2008, 9:07am

Folks;

being a full-time Java developer, I just have discovered about processing recently as an interesting thing to be, well, quickly into doing visual things using Java (so far I'm a server-side developer here so I know next to nothing about these aspects of the language). I am likely to mainly use processing as a toy for doing, well, visual stuff, playing around, seeing what can be done in my spare time. So far I am browsing the list of books on processing, but, given they're all rather extensive, I don't know which one to start with. Can anyone make a recommendation here? :)

TIA and all the best,
Kristian
Re: which book to get?
Reply #1 - Nov 20th, 2008, 9:42pm

I'm a graphics person, not a developer, but I picked up "Processing: A Programming Handbook for Visual Designers and Artists," and it's awesome - tons of visual examples and it walks you right through graphics from the beginning of the book. With your background I'm sure you'd skip some of the introductory stuff, like what the difference between float and int is, but even if you do skip that stuff, there's plenty of graphics/animation/typography info in the book to keep a graphics person satisfied. You might see if you can browse a TOC for the books you're looking into buying.
Reply #2 - Nov 21st, 2008, 3:37pm