We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › beginner question re: classes
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
beginner question re: classes (Read 331 times)
beginner question re: classes
Oct 29th, 2008, 7:20pm

hi y'all, complete novice here...i'm just now learning how to define classes and have a simple question. when creating a class that won't have any external variable input (all variables will be set by random() within each object), do i need to declare these internal variables at the onset of class creation, or can i simply declare them within the methods in which they'll be used? my brain is telling me i can do this:

class NewThing{
 NewThing(){
 }
 void method1(){
   float method1Var1 = 0;
   float method1Var2 = 0;
 }
}

or does it need to look more like this?:

Class NewThing{
 float method1Var1;
 float method1Var2 ;

NewThing(){
   }
 void method1(){
   method1Var1 = 0;
   method1Var2 = 0;
 }
}

if it is as simple as option number one, can i skip the constructor as well since i'm not passing any variables from outside the object? hope that makes sense keeping in mind i'm such a noob (two weeks ago i didn't know what a semi-colon was for) that they could both be wrong...thanks!
Re: beginner question classes
Reply #1 - Oct 29th, 2008, 9:02pm

It is difficult to judge from your mock sample... Smiley

The second form is useful if you need to persist the values for the life of the object. That's what classes are made for: to associate data (the class fields/variables) and functionality (the methods).

In the first form, the variables will live only the time span of the method call.