We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › No idea what could be the problem!!
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
No idea what could be the problem!! (Read 827 times)
No idea what could be the problem!!
Sep 15th, 2008, 4:40am

I am fairly new at processing and I have run into a error that I cannot figure out.  I have done some java before, and I don't think that this error would have happened in pure java.

By the way the code is a zombie/human simulation mod that is basically copied off: http://zombies.insertdisc.com/zombies.java by Kevan Davis.  I am just recoding it as an exercise and since I have run into this error my code has been getting closer to Davis's because I am trying to ween out the bug.  Here is my code:

//Containers
Being [] beings;

//Controlling Vars
int numZombies = 1;
int numHumans = 6000;
int totalBeings;

color zombie = color(0,255,0);
color human = color(255,0,0);
color panicHuman = color(255,0,255);
color wall = color(0,0,0);
color nothing = color(1,1,1);

void setup() {
 size(200,200);
 background(0);
 frameRate(30);

totalBeings = numZombies + numHumans;

beings = new Being[totalBeings];

//Create Zombies
 for(int i = 0; i<numZombies; i++) {
   beings[i] = new Being(true); //True = isZombie
 }

//Create Humans
 for(int i = numZombies; i<totalBeings; i++) {
   beings[i] = new Being(false);
 }
}

void draw() {
 background(0);
 //println(frameRate);
 for(int i = 0;i<totalBeings;i++) {
   beings[i].exist();
 }
}

color look(int x, int y, int dir, int d) {
   int xpos = x;
   int ypos = y;
   for(int i = 0; i < d; i++) {
     if(dir==1) ypos--;
     if(dir==2) xpos++;