We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › A little confused about MAX_FLOAT
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
A little confused about MAX_FLOAT (Read 1974 times)
A little confused about MAX_FLOAT
Jul 30th, 2008, 9:07pm

I'm a little confused about how the MAX_FLOAT (and therefore also the MIN_FLOAT) value works. Is it a sort of "container" that stores the highest value found so far and then gets continually updated until the for loop reaches its end? Can there only be one MAX_FLOAT value per sketch?

Sorry if the wording doesn't make sense. I'm a complete newb to programming.
Re: A little confused about MAX_FLOAT
Reply #1 - Jul 30th, 2008, 9:46pm

MAX_FLOAT is the maximum possible value a float can have.. if you set a float to MAX_FLOAT then try to add any value to it, things will break.
Reply #2 - Jul 30th, 2008, 10:21pm

oooooooooooh I get it now. Thank you!
Reply #3 - Jul 31st, 2008, 8:52pm

One more question. For the following code

PImage mapImage;
Table locationTable;
int rowCount;

Table dataTable;
float dataMin = MAX_FLOAT;
float dataMax = MIN_FLOAT;

void setup() {
 size(640, 400);
 mapImage = loadImage("map.png");
 locationTable = new Table("locations.tsv");
 rowCount = locationTable.getRowCount();

dataTable = new Table("random.tsv");

for (int row = 0; row < rowCount; row++) {
 float value = dataTable.getFloat(row, 1);
 if (value > dataMax) {
   dataMax = value;
}
if (value < dataMin) {
 dataMin = value;
}
}
}