We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › turning text into a command
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
turning text into a command (Read 526 times)
turning text into a command
Jul 29th, 2008, 3:45pm

Im new to this so its probable my question is a bit stupid.  I want to load a txt file and have processing break it down into individual characters and apply a command to each character so that each one runs a particular frame of an animation or block of code. Using the loadString() i have it reading a .txt but don't know how to break it up to apply the commands to the individual letters. I have it working with the keyPressed command but want it to run automatically. Thanks in advance.
Re: turning text into a command
Reply #1 - Jul 30th, 2008, 11:39am

There are several ways to do this.
A possible one is to split the string in an array of chars:

String s = "AxVrsT";

void setup()
{
 char[] chars = s.toCharArray();
 for (int i = 0; i < chars.length; i++)
 {
   print(chars[i] + " / ");
 }
}

A possibly simpler way is to use s.charAt(i) to get each char.

PS.: that's not really an integration question... Smiley
Reply #2 - Jul 31st, 2008, 6:36pm