We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › noob - beginners guide
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
noob - beginners guide? (Read 548 times)
noob - beginners guide?
Jul 27th, 2008, 5:07pm

Hello all -

I'm new to processing, and I'm looking for a good beginner's guide. Specifically, the issues I'm having trouble with are when to call the setup() and draw() functions, and how to return a value from the function.

I've looked through the references, and they're great for a reference, but they don't explain how and when to use something. The examples are great examples, but they don't help me understand how to properly constuct or troubleshoot my own code. I guess what I'm saying is that I'm looking for a significant amount of hand-holding at this point Wink

Here's a specific example of something I'm having problems with: I want to make a function that calculates the length of a line. The example for functions doesn't give an example function that returns a value. I couldn't find 'functions' in the reference. I only happened upon a reference by running into the keyword 'return'. So, I write this:

float lineLength( float x1, float y1, float x2, float y2 ){
 return sqrt( abs(x1-x2)^2 + abs(y1-y2)^2 ) );
}

When I run this in some code, I get 'unexpected token: float'. The project where I'm trying to add this runs otherwise, without my function, so I don't think it's a syntax error elsewhere in the code. I don't really have any idea why I'm getting this error.

Re: noob - beginners guide?
Reply #1 - Jul 27th, 2008, 5:35pm

use pow() for exponents:

return sqrt(pow(abs(x1-x2),2) + pow(abs(y1-y2),2)));