We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › proMIDI newb question
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
proMIDI newb question (Read 710 times)
proMIDI newb question
Jul 24th, 2008, 11:32am

Hello, im fairly new to processing and im looking at an example from the proMIDI web page.  With the example

void noteOn(
 Note note,
 int deviceNumber,
 int midiChannel
){

how would i go about setting it to only one note.  I have a keyboard and hit the very bottom note and I println the pitch.  It reads 21.  I understand device # and midichannel, but was just wondering on how to just draw a circle for one note and a square for another note. Also i am tiring to get the example from the proMIDI web page http://www.texone.org/promidi/note_class_note.htm# to work but it says cannot find symbol "Controller". Thanks.  Matt.
Re: proMIDI newb question
Reply #1 - Jul 29th, 2008, 10:38am

Hey up

If I understand this right, you're getting the note value in your function, yes? If so, then just use a conditional within that function to do what you want. E.g.

if (note.getPitch() == 21) {

//make a square!
//or call a makeSquare() function that you've written elsewhere

} else if (note.getPitch() == 22) {

//make a circle...

}

There's plenty more complex things you could do with the getPitch value (e.g. access an index in an array of objects that do different things but all have a 'makeashape' method), but that's the basic principle I reckon.
Reply #2 - Jul 29th, 2008, 3:27pm

that's basically what i am looking for thanks.  But i have a keyboard then another midi controller.  would the code look something like this?