We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › AIDS Charity Game: trail problem [moved]
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
AIDS Charity Game: trail problem [moved] (Read 884 times)
AIDS Charity Game: trail problem [moved]
Jul 9th, 2008, 1:39pm

ps: the post is long, but please help me.

Hi,

I work for a AIDS Charity ( avert.org ). I am also a artist that use processing in some works. So when we talked about doing a game, I though "processing".

Basically, we are developing a game where you are controlling a snake-thing. You have to collect letter and/or items and avoid baddies. We want a nice movement and a brain-training-like type of game.
The development is doing well but we have a problem with the snake. I can't manage to control the length of the snake.

Here is how I am doing it for the moment and a possible solution:

Problem:
I've got a class ( bone ) which is a vertex. The first end of the first line is attached to the mouse. When the mouse move, each extremities of the object take the position of the object in front. It all relies on how fast the mouse move and how fast the computer "record" the mouse pos.
The problem is that the faster you move, the longer is the snake. Which is cool for the gameplay in a way. But on slower machines the snake become incredibility long.

What I am trying to do to fix this is, I think, not really efficient:
I declare a "length". I divide all section ( bones ) of the snake by this length. Store all those new positions. Draw the snake on x number of "length".

Other questions: