We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › import issue
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
import issue (Read 566 times)
import issue
Jul 4th, 2008, 3:27pm

Hi. I'm new to Processing. I would like to use a matrix computation package (mtj) within Processing, but on this instruction:

import no.uib.cipr.matrix.BandMatrix;

it triggers the following exception:

/tmp/build38983.tmp/Temporary_5469_5682.java:1:57:1:85: Semantic Error: The import "no/uib/cipr/matrix/BandMatrix" is not valid, since it does not name a type in a package.

I have no problem using this library in a standard .java program, since the jar is in my classpath (/etc/environment => CLASSPATH="/home/jd/dev/java:/usr/share/java:/usr/share/java/mtj.jar:/usr/share/
java/jama.jar:/opt/colt/lib/colt.jar:/opt/colt/lib/concurrent.jar").

Must I add something specific for Processing, or copy/jink the lib in a Processing folder? I did not find the answer in the forum, sorry if the question seems stupid :)

Thank you.
Re: import issue
Reply #1 - Jul 5th, 2008, 5:08pm

what you're doing looks ok.

and it seems to be a problem with the jar rather than the classpath (am pretty certain you'd get a more basic error if it couldn't find the jar).

could it be using a different version of java? something like that?
Reply #2 - Jul 5th, 2008, 7:03pm