We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Drawing GUI elements and "web graphics"
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Drawing GUI elements and "web graphics" (Read 671 times)
Drawing GUI elements and "web graphics"
Jun 22nd, 2008, 7:27pm

I'm a professional programmer with no graphics or artistic experience to speak of. Still, I can't and don't want to avoid graphics design entirely. Dabbling in programs such as Gimp (Linux equivalent to Photoshop) is not really to my taste, particularly in cases when my programmer instincts immediately point out that the image in question ought to be generalized and parameterized.

As such, I'm looking at Processing as a programmable drawing tool, not as a means for artistic expression. To get my feet wet, I tried to draw a button like presented there

http://technomono.com/blog/make-a-button-with-rounded-corners/#more-105

I didn't get very far, but along the way it occurred to me that all the tutorials I've seen so far take a lot of artistic latitude when placing color gradients and highlights. The engineering way, I take it, would be to model the button in 3D and add light sources. So much for the theory.

With my little understanding, I can't decide if that idea is at all sensible and if Processing would be a good tool to approach it. I'd appreciate your suggestions and pointers to relevant examples.
Re: Drawing GUI elements and "web graphics&qu
Reply #1 - Jun 22nd, 2008, 8:36pm

Well, you can also play with Gimp, using some script-fu (Scheme, Python, Lua or whatever). Should be fine for static images, basically.