We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexSuggestions & BugsSoftware,  Documentation,  Website Suggestions › Proccessing: Rendering the structure of a program
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Proccessing: Rendering the structure of a program? (Read 1626 times)
Proccessing: Rendering the structure of a program?
Jun 15th, 2008, 5:34pm

I've beeen thinking about this for a while and I think you guys should definitely look into it.

I'm a newbie and one of the hardest parts of programming for me was trying to wrap my mind around the structure of how a program worked and the way computers process data.   It helped a lot more once I began charting out the flow of a program with mindmapping software, but I feel like the tools are made for people who are what I call "symbolicists" good at symbols,  where as I am good at pure visualization.

Converting functions to geometric objects and having a structural geometic layout of a program that can be rendered  to 2D or 3D would be great.  My idea is kinda hard to explain without pictures.  But to get an idea you can check out www.thebrain.com, download PersonaBrain nd fiddle around with the object creation and mapping.