We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › How do I get objects from two classes to collide
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
How do I get objects from two classes to collide? (Read 639 times)
How do I get objects from two classes to collide?
Jun 15th, 2008, 3:00pm

Hi I'm a newbie to Processing.

So I'm trying to make a simple side scrolling shooter.

I have two classes;
Bullets - Creates Ellipses when a key is pressed.

Enemies - Spawns Rectangles that spawn on the top of the screen and moves them down the screen

It all works fine, but I'm having trouble with getting the
bullets to collide with the enemies. I am aware of to how check for collision. But the problem is, I have no idea how to extract the coordinates for the Bullets or the Enemies.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Re: How do I get objects from two classes to colli
Reply #1 - Jun 15th, 2008, 4:12pm

One option is to add a "isHitBy(Bullet[] b)" method to your Enemies class, and then each frame pass all the bullets into each enemy, and have their method decide if they've been hit by a bullet, and then do whatever is necessary when that happens.
Reply #2 - Jun 16th, 2008, 3:48am

Sorry if this is a stupid question. But how I would do that? I still have no idea on how to check the x and y positions.
Reply #3 - Jun 16th, 2008, 10:37am

since a bullet is moving, your Bullet class should store its x and y position (and maybe have a move() method or something like that, it's up to you). Example :
Code:
class Bullet {
float x;
float y;
void move() {
y -= speed;
}
}