We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Surface library (Read 896 times)
Surface library
Jun 14th, 2008, 1:02pm

I'd like to use the surface library mentioned in the Reference library, but unfortunately I get errors when I try to use libraries in Processing.

I'm new in Processing and actually in programming altogether. I sincerely apologize if my questions are actually too easy or silly. I've spend days trying to figure out a program and I really hope your library can help me. But first I guess I'm clumsy with libraries. I asked about this in general in my post http://processing.org/discourse/yabb_beta/YaBB.cgi?board=LibraryProblems ;action=display;num=1213391592;start=0

But now I actually have specific beginner questions for the surface library. I put the unzipped surfaceLib under the directory of libraries in processing-0135. Then I just tried something. For example:

import surface.calculation.*;
import surface.*;
import processing.xml.*;

size(500,500,P3D);
Surface(g, 10, 10, 0, 200, 0, 200, 1, 100);
Sphere(g, 10, 10);

I get the error 'Cannot find a function named "Sphere" with parameters processing.corePGraphics,int,int.

1) The program doesn't do anything. How do I get acces to the library and get for example a surface working?

2) It's also not very clear to me what I should do with i_parameter and i_color. And should the first parameter just be g? Am I wrong with the parameters? Does anyone have example code?