We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOther Libraries › Processing, OSC and Flash
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Processing, OSC and Flash (Read 1401 times)
Processing, OSC and Flash
Jun 4th, 2008, 12:33am

Hi, i'm new at Processing and I'm trying to make a communication between Arduino and Flash, using Processing and OSC.

I've a very basic circuit on a BreadBoard with two buttons, when pressed each button sends a String on Serial Port: for example "H00:123123x" (I'm building an Interface for an already existing project, so I'm using the Strings composed in this way by another guy). Second button sends "H01:123123x".

I want to read this string in Processing, and build a OSC command to send via Flosc to Flash. The OSC command must contain a general command "/buttonPressed" (for example) and a value composed by just the first three characters of the String that Arduino sends to Processing: "H00" - for example.

OK, I've done it and it's working BUT sometimes the OSC command doesn't work as supposed and Flash trace me an incomplete received value.

I'm quite sure that Flash part is OK because I'm quite experienced, I don't know if this kind of mistake can happen due to the situation (you know: Arduino+processing+flosc+flash:) or I'm doing something wrong with Processing (I'm a newbee)

This is my code:

import processing.serial.*;
import oscP5.*;
import netP5.*;

OscP5 oscP5;
NetAddress myRemoteLocation;

String portname="/dev/tty.usbserial-A9003ZDD";
Serial myPort;

void setup() {
myPort = new Serial(this, portname, 9600);
oscP5 = new OscP5(this,3000);
myRemoteLocation = new NetAddress("127.0.0.1",1234);
}