We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Problem Lauching quicktime movie (Read 1010 times)
Problem Lauching quicktime movie
May 15th, 2008, 8:48pm

Hello.

I'm a bit of a rookie on Processing and am having trouble even playing a movie. I've read the explanation again and again but am having the same problem. I have my Quicktime movie in a "data" folder in the same folder as my sketch but when I lauch i get:

"The file "video2" is missing or inaccessible, make sure the URL is valid or that the file has been added to your sketch and is readable."

Why is this?
Here is my sketch, it is the one I have taken from this website:

import processing.video.*;
Movie myMovie;

void setup() {
 size(200, 200);
 myMovie = new Movie(this, "video2");
 myMovie.loop();
}

void draw() {
 tint(255, 20);
 image(myMovie, mouseX, mouseY);
}

// Called every time a new frame is available to read
void movieEvent(Movie m) {
 m.read();
}

I need to run this vid for a university degree project and am getting a bit stressed so any help would be very welcome.
Thank you for you time
Re: Problem Lauching quicktime movie
Reply #1 - May 15th, 2008, 8:56pm

Is the file really called just "video2" or is it actually "video2.mov"? (windows can be set to hide file extentions) try changing it to new Movie(this,"video2.mov");
Reply #2 - May 15th, 2008, 9:29pm

Thank you JohnG but still no luck. I've also tried:

import processing.video.*;
Movie myMovie;

void setup() {
 size(200, 200);
 frameRate(30);
 myMovie = new Movie(this, "tree.mov");
 myMovie.speed(4.0);
 myMovie.loop();
}

void draw() {
 if(myMovie.available()) {
   myMovie.read();
 }