We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProcessing DevelopmentLibraries,  Tool Development › Candy SVG Library development status?
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Candy SVG Library development status?? (Read 1079 times)
Candy SVG Library development status??
May 9th, 2008, 8:36pm

Is candy being worked on currently? I'm wondering why you're not using the excellent java-based batik codebase? I'm just getting started with processing, I'm thinking of porting an existing ongoing actionscript 3 based project (1500 lines) to processing, mostly because I think I could do cooler stuff with it going forward. It uses a (lousy) SVG library I wrote for actionscript 3 - as3svgrenderer.googlecode.com - ported from batik. Should be much much easier to 'port' batik into a processing library than translate java to actionscript as I did.
Re: Candy SVG Library development status??
Reply #1 - May 10th, 2008, 4:16am

Candy is now a core library:
http://processing.org/reference/libraries/candy/

Ben is maintaining and improving it. I'll let him answer further. I know that he's looked at Batik closely.
Reply #2 - May 10th, 2008, 4:16pm

My library geomerative is now in a state where it can load pretty well SVGs.  You might want to give it a try.  However it's not well documented.  But I will do that little by little at the same time I settle a bit the API.

http://www.ricardmarxer.com/geomerative/geomerative-12.zip

I would be very happy to get some feedback so that I can do a more public release soon.
Reply #3 - May 16th, 2008, 6:35am

I see that it's GPL. Any chance of releasing it under LGPL or other? I'd love to try it out on my project.