We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOther Libraries › Database access using ADO
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Database access using ADO (Read 3227 times)
Database access using ADO
Apr 29th, 2008, 12:39am

I am very new to Processing, I stumbled upon it just the other day and I am intrigued. I work for a large Architecture/Engineering firm and I typically use VBA scripts with Bentley Microstation to generate geometry. I have been looking for something Java-like for use in visualizing data from our structural analysis programs. I am able to export results from our analysis packages to Access Databases. I am familiar with ADO interaction with the database for importing and parsing data. I was wondering if it is possible to utilize ADO to access and import data into processing applets. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Re: Database access using ADO
Reply #1 - May 2nd, 2008, 4:57pm

In Java, you can access Access databases (and many others) via JDBC.

Try to goole JDBC and you should find what you want.

If you need more help, I can upload a script example of a JDBC connection to an Access database.
Reply #2 - Sep 26th, 2008, 12:55am

Hi, i am also very interested in the connection of ADO (I am also using MicroStation Generative Components) to Processing. It would be very appreciated if you could upload a script example of a JDBC connection to an Access database. looking forward to further discussion on this issue. Cheers!
Reply #3 - Jun 8th, 2009, 6:06am