We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › key press example
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
key press example (Read 996 times)
key press example
Jan 3rd, 2008, 3:04am

hi, im a noob at processing, and i just found out how wounderfull the language is to use with arduino, becuase it opens up many more possibilities, and i'm having problems doing my first project.

i'm trying to make it so when i press a button on my keyboard, an led will turn on. But i'm getting several problems, most saying that "void" does not belong in the place i put it.

now this code IS NOT ANYWHERE NEAR THE CODE I WANT, this is simply an output test for the arduino, but i really don't know how to layout the language so it does not interfear with the arduinos translation to using processing.
if anybody could please fix up the code, and compile it to see if it works, because i cant get what im trying, so if anybody could just make it really quick, i would greatly apreciate it, heres the sample output code:

import processing.serial.*;

import cc.arduino.*;

Arduino arduino;

color off = color(4, 79, 111);
color on = color(84, 145, 158);

int[] values = { Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW,
Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW,
Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW, Arduino.LOW };

void setup() {
 size(470, 200);

println(Arduino.list());
 arduino = new Arduino(this, Arduino.list()[0], 57600);

for (int i = 0; i <= 13; i++)
   arduino.pinMode(i, Arduino.OUTPUT);
}

void draw() {
 background(off);
 stroke(on);

for (int i = 0; i <= 13; i++) {
   if (values[i] == Arduino.HIGH)