We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › What is wrong in this
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
What is wrong in this? (Read 872 times)
What is wrong in this?
Nov 30th, 2007, 4:40pm

Hi, I'm new to Processing and have made a very small program but am unable to find what is wrong in this.

I actually have some random files kept  in my data folder C0.pts, C23.pts, C148.pts etc. (any number from 0 to 220 after C) which have some data. What my program does is try to open the files one by one on each key press, using my Polygon class.

Now, I know that not all numbers from 0 to 220 are there, so I wrote a try catch block so that whichever file name is not found, it goes in the catch block and continues. ( I know what I'm doing is a very crude way of doing it but that's all right :) )

But, it opens the file C0.pts successfully, and tries only upto C5.pts and then stops!! I don't know why should it stop trying before 220!!

Anyway, here's the program. I'm not supplying the class Polygon, you can replace that by any random file opening process. :-

//Code starts from here

boolean fileNotFound=false;
int i;
Polygon C;
boolean keyLocked=false;

void setup()
{
 size(800,800);
 size(800,800);
 size(800,800); //Problem where processing window is opened with the default 100,100 size.
 C=new Polygon();

}

void draw()
{

if(keyPressed && !keyLocked)
 {
   keyLocked=true;
   fileNotFound=true;
   while(fileNotFound)
   {
     try
     {

println(i);
       C.loadPts("C"+i+".pts");
       C.drawCurve();
       fileNotFound=false;
     }
     catch(Exception ex)
     {
       println("Exception");