We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOther Libraries › FAST SCREENSHOT PRINTING
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
FAST SCREENSHOT PRINTING (Read 1331 times)
FAST SCREENSHOT PRINTING
Oct 27th, 2007, 12:21pm

hi processors,

I am a rookie to processing, but what I want to do is simple.

I want to print out the monitor screen when the mouse is moved, clicked, or any key is pressed.

it is for an installation about digital/analog.

so far with processing it is taking too long. any ideas?

------

/*
This code Prints the stage into the defaule printer device.
It was tested on a PC Windows XP machine, using ***Processing version 91***
(V92 may lock up the application on some machines)

Code adapted for Processing By Ben Fry and Amit Pitaru
on October 15th 2005

For a java good example on the Java Printing API, visit this link:
http://www.javacommerce.com/displaypage.jsp?name=printcode.sql&id=18252

Press 'p' to print out the stage non-threaded.
Press 't' to print out the stage as a seperate thread operation.
*/

import java.awt.print.*;

PImage img;

void setup() {
 size(200,200);
 img = loadImage("arch.jpg");
}

void draw() {
 background(255);
 image(img,0,0);
 line(0, 0, 100, 100);
}

void mousePressed() {
// Statements
printStageThreaded();
}
void keyPressed() {
// Statements
printStageThreaded();
}

thank you for helping
Re: FAST SCREENSHOT PRINTING
Reply #1 - Nov 2nd, 2007, 8:02pm

If you're using OPENGL (which in your example you were not but you can still switch?) you can get FRAPS or something similar and bind keys for screenshotting. It's usually rather fast.