We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › Help! Alternative FFT implementation for live use
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Help! Alternative FFT implementation for live use? (Read 812 times)
Help! Alternative FFT implementation for live use?
Oct 10th, 2007, 8:01am

Hi there. I am new to Processing and programming in general, and would much appreciate your help. I have made a few nifty things like a music keyboard that plays music for example, so I am not entirely ignorant.

I have an idea for a kind a live use for processing. The idea is to play a 3 or 4 minute video (series of frames using the loop function), but have them hidden via a black screen so you can see them.

Using FFT analysis, I would like to reveal parts of the images based on music that is coming from a live performance (electronic music & hardware, ableton live, etc). Like a traditional frequency spectrum graph, this would simply have low frequency content to high frequency content laid out from left to right on a horizontal line. I would like to use about 50 "bins", that is to say divide the frequency range up into 50 frequency chunks but instead of just representing the level (volume/amplitude) of each bin with a vertical bar I would like to use 5 boxes stacked vertically. So when the level of a bin/frequency is low it may only reveal the background images through 1 box, when it is at its highest it will reveal the images through 5 boxes.