We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Will you help out a newbie with first project
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Will you help out a newbie with first project? (Read 828 times)
Will you help out a newbie with first project?
Oct 9th, 2007, 3:23pm

Hi all,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this,
moderators please move it if it is...

First a little background info:
I'm a student in software ingeneering (i'm just starting out, but i allready have some experience in programming).
I'm interested in programming, CG in general but mostly 3D animation, fractals, and almost everything related to these areas..... Hope that makes sense....

I found out about processing a while ago and i thought it was very interesting but i had no, so to say, inspiration to start a serious project up till now...

Project info starts here:

You see i stumbled upon this screensaver called Sonar, which basically displays a sonar on your monitor and pings hosts on your local network - placing them on the display according to their response time.

However, the author of this scrsaver for some reason has only released the screensaver for X11 and MacOS systems and not for windows....
The source code is also released....

So, what i want to do is make a clone of this neat application which would work on windows...
I'm guessing it's probably overambitious for a first project but i want to try anyway...

The things i need to know are:
-is proccesing the right tool for this thing
-what is the right place (or places) on this forum for:
    -starting a WIP project
    -asking for help
    -searching for tutorials and examples