We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Pages: 1 2 
word recognition? (Read 13004 times)
word recognition?
Oct 3rd, 2007, 11:30am

hey there,

is it in any way possible to write an applet in processing that can recognize words?
i mean: the user says something through a microphone, and processing "understands" the words?

i'm totally new to processing, so please forgive my crazy ideas.

Re: word recognition?
Reply #1 - Oct 3rd, 2007, 12:52pm

there is speech recognition for java .. not sure what the status of that is, nor how good it performs:

http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/speech/forDevelopers/jsapi-guide/Recognition.html

reading in (sampling) sound can be done with some of the sound libraries (all?):
http://sonia.pitaru.com/
http://code.compartmental.net/tools/minim
http://www.tree-axis.com/Ess/

talking of applet are you planning to run it as applet (web, browser) or as application?

F
Reply #2 - Oct 5th, 2007, 7:11pm

thanks!
i'll have a look at the link.

i'm planning to run it as an application.
or, more exactly, i will only present it once at university.

would i be better off using something like Jitter? i do have some max/msp skills.

EDIT:
i did not find a download link for the java speech API.
am i just blind?
Reply #3 - Oct 6th, 2007, 11:42am

right, sound-api is just that an API without implementations. sorry, did not see that ...
i guess you have to see if there is an implementation for your system available, os-x is missing one.

if you happen to be on os-x you should have speech recognition built-in (check your system preferences). you might be able to link that to commands that are sent to processing ...